Reviving the Old, Creating the New

It’s been over a year since I last posted. Effective blogger I’ve been, huh?

So let’s get back to it. No excuses this time and full dedication for maintaining consistency. What I’ve realized over the last year, other than time goes by extremely fast(!), is that there are so many moments that go by unnoticed until they accumulate into something new. What I mean by this is that every day normal occurrences begin to create milestones, turning of pages and new chapters.

This time last year, I was deciding whether or not to leave Kansas City and embark on a new journey in Dubai. I had just graduated with my Bachelors in English Literature and I was having a bit of an existential crisis – as is normal with most fresh graduates. Everything in Kansas City was going well for me; I had a new place in Midtown that I loved, great job and me and my friends were having the summer of our lives.

But I know me. I needed an adventure and I wanted to be a part of something new. At that point, I wasn’t really considering graduate school and I wanted to take some time off to reflect on what I wanted from life, my career and etc.

Less than a month later, I was in Dubai, enrolled in a Master’s program, and preparing for a International Business degree. Drastic is an understatement at this point.

And here I am, a year later, graduating from that same program that I didn’t even know I was going to be in. And it has been a crazy ride. I met amazingly interesting people, took intensely dense courses and travelled to some awesome countries. Over the year, I got to see UAE, Oman, Qatar and I’m currently typing away from my school’s San Francisco campus. Pretty neat, huh?

If you were to ask me what I’ve learned from the past year, I wouldn’t be able to even process where to begin. Yes, I was doing a graduate degree but I didn’t even learn half as much from my degree that I learned from my experience with the people, the different cultures and obstacles I encountered. If I could change one thing about this past crazy ride of year, I wouldn’t change a single thing. Every distressful moment, every happy moment created this wonderful experience I’m leaving with now.

I graduate in two weeks in which I’ll be back in Dubai for the graduation ceremony. After that, hopefully find a job and start adult-ing. Or not. I think this past year was the intro chapter of an adventure I’m embarking on that may or may not keep me in Dubai, take me back to Kansas City or land me in a new destination in another part of the world.

I think the overarching takeaway I can formulate is something along the lines of: meet more people, laugh more, don’t worry about your accounting class, but stop procrastinating, pack less and travel more, and take every day as a new leaf to start something new.

One thought on “Reviving the Old, Creating the New

Add yours

  1. It’s true that you don’t learn half as much from studying than you do from the people you meet. It’s important to think about what you want in life and what’s Important to you as well as not feeling the need to do what everyone else is doing. Also, everyone’s journey is different. We all take different paths and chances to get to where we need to be. What’s most important is the path that you choose!

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

